On July 27, 2020 Virginia became the first state to approve an emergency temporary standard (16 VAC 25-220) to protect workers from COVID-19. The standard has gone into effect and employers located in the state have until August 26, 2020 to implement the standard’s requirements, which include:
- Physical distancing measures and facial coverings for employees in customer-facing positions and when physical distancing isn’t possible
- Access to handwashing stations or hand sanitizer
- Cleaning of high-contact surfaces
- Notification of all employees within 24 hours of a co-worker testing positive
- Prohibiting employees known or suspected to have COVID-19 from returning to work for 10 days or until they have two consecutive negative tests
However, all Virginia businesses should review the entire policy for other requirements as well.
The standard was approved July 15 by a vote of the Department of Labor and Industry’s Safety and Health Codes Board and will be in place for six months and can be made permanent through the process defined in state law. It was developed in response to an Executive Order signed May 26 by Gov. Ralph Northam (D). For more information, please click here: https://www.safetyandhealthmagazine.com/articles/20147-covid-19-pandemic-virginias-emergency-temporary-standard-is-in-effect